Guys 10 Mile Road Race by Mike Harris

I first remember hearing about this race a few years ago when Dave Waddington ran it. Guy’s 10 mile race, who’s Guy I wondered, must be famous to have his own race?

Guy’s Thatched Hamlet is a hotel and restaurant in Bilsborrow north of Preston. Flat terrain leads it to being excellent running territory.

10 miles, a very interesting distance. Do you treat it as a 10k and try to hang on, maybe pushing your performance to the limit or run it as a fast half marathon, training up for the coming marathon season. Which ever way you look at it, I’ve always considered it as a good start to marathon training season. An indicator of where you are at, after an autumn of racing.

2015 was cancelled due to flooding and so my entry was rolled over into 2016. A calf problem had meant I tried to defer but it wasn’t possible so being too tight to waste a race entry, racing was on!

I car shared with fellow Harriers Darren Jackson and Bozhidar (Bobby) Kasabov, both in excellent form so it was shaping up to be a good showing for Wigan. Also racing was Danielle Brearton but unfortunately Danielle didn’t manage to make the photo call.

img_1709

The course is out and back with a loop that takes in the outskirts of Inkskip (a good half in January) returning back to Bilsborrow.

It was a very cold day but otherwise pretty good race conditions.

My plan was to run 6.20 miles and see whether I could maintain it. Bobby as expected took the lead for Harriers, running initially with some caution but gradually upping the tempo and getting into a racing battle with a few other men. I was joined for company by Darren for the first 4 miles. The race could be categorised as miles 1 -4 easy, 5 – 7 some effort and 8 – 10 hanging in the best I could. It was obvious I was still be punished for a lazy summer when I got to the last couple of miles.

img_1710

Still I stuck it out for a 73 second PB in 64:33 and was joined in the PB club by Bobby in 62:40, Darren with 65:30 and Danielle 74:14. A fine outing for Wigan Harriers yielding a full set of PB’s, an excellent morning’s work.

 

Leave a Reply

