London Marathon by Paul Bryers

After really enjoying London last year and getting a time of 3:17, I decided to have another go this year and aim for 3:10. Coach Waddi gave me my plan and at the end of December I started training 6 days a week. Everything went well in training as I had Gaz Holland as my side kick on most runs as he was doing Manchester marathon. I PB in 5k, 10k and half marathon along the way, so coming into the late stages of training Waddi was pushing me to go for a faster time.We travelled down to London on the Friday so I could take it easy on the Saturday just going to the expo then it was time to relax.

IMG_4508
Sunday morning, up early and raring to go. It was quite a cold morning so couldn’t complain about the weather and it this point just wanted to get going. As the race started I soon got into my race pace and the first few miles flew past. When the route merge together I saw Mike Harris across the many runners on the opposite side of the road. I didn’t want to waste energy so didn’t alter my route and concentrated on my pace.

Soon I had passed Cutty Sark and now just focusing on my pace and looking for Tower Bridge. As I crossed the bridge the crowds were so loud I could hardy hear the gaggle of Harriers which had made it down to London to show their support. It gave me a massive boost of energy and kept me going. My aim was to keep with the 3hr pacer until 18-19 miles and see how I felt, so after passing half way I tried to relax and get to mile 18.

I passed 18 miles and still felt ok. After about 191/2 miles you run around a roundabout and head in the opposite direction. As I was running away from the roundabout a hear someone shout my name, as I looked across the many runners I could see a fellow Harrier smiling away at me. It was Tim, looking relaxed and running well. As I passed the 20 mile stage a was slowing down and could feel my legs start to feel heavy. All I could hear was Waddi’s voice in my head telling me to “dig deep”. Coming back towards Tower
bridge again the shouts from the many Harriers kept me going and as I passed Lisa, my wife it give me a massive boost just to see her as she was down there by herself and had been in the same position for nearly 4 hours.

475847_227025381_XLarge

Head back down and tried to pick the pace back up for the last 4 miles but I could just feel twinges of cramp in my legs trying to stop me. Big Ben was a glorious sight as it came into view and I knew I was nearly there. As I saw the 800mt to go sign I started to pick up the pace. That last 800mts felt like 800 miles. As I crossed the line I looked down at my watch and had finished in 3:04:38.

I was really pleased with my time and would defiantly recommend the marathon to everyone who hasn’t done it. The crowds are amazing and keep you going when your feeling tired.

Leave a Reply

