Manchester Marathon by Stuart Gibson

It was a lovely day. I had a mind set to keep a pace of 10 minutes per mile and try to make it in under 4 and a half hours.

To begin with I felt good and did 9.30/9.40 minutes per mile. I did well until I hit the 17 mile mark; something just came over me to stop. My legs started to feel like jelly and I thought maybe a little stretch off would help and get me back into the marathon, but stopping was a bad idea. It threw me off my mind set and getting back into the run was very hard work. I kept moving and thought, “No I am going to do this”. I slowed my pace down to 12minutes per mile, then I saw the 4hour 30min pace setter pass me. I kept on pushing hard but my legs felt too heavy to keep up with the pace setter. I finished in 4 hours 47 minutes.

I loved the crew helping me push on with all their support (free sweets, always good). I’m already thinking of signing up again for next year.

 

image

One thought on “Manchester Marathon by Stuart Gibson

  1. Pingback: Wigan Harriers Marathon Blitz! | wiganharriersendurance

Leave a Reply

