The Rat rolls into Liverpool again

Andy Ratcliffe shares his thoughts on the Liverpool Half Marathon, his second consecutive day of competition in Liverpool.

It was with a rush of blood after the Coniston 14 that saw me enter the Liverpool Half marathon knowing we had the 12 stage the day before. I was closely watching the weather all week and with 40mph winds predicted I wondered if I’d made the right decision, luckily the only thing the forecasters got right was the rain.

“I held back on my leg in the 12 stage” knowing I was in with a sniff of a PB 1.17.56 which I set in 1996 (Editor’s note  – before GPS watches were invented!). I arrived at Liverpool nice and early and managed to park next to the start,very nice. Having done a little warm up running to a Tesco Express for some change for the parking meter I took the decision to run in hat gloves AND a base layer……..and to quote “when you can beat me you can comment”….as with Coniston there were a few people who had delusion of grandeur so a quick move up was needed after a slight delay we were off. 5.55’s was my target but I didn’t know whether the 12 stage “stroll” would of deadened my legs slightly.

5.47 first mile but knowing there was quite a steep incline within the first 1.5 miles that was fine, the miles seemed to tick by quite fast and we were soon into Sefton Park, the 10k point was as near as damn it to the finish of the 12 stage which saw me go through in approx 38mins, the next mark on my progress was the 10 mile point 59.45 all going very well and still feeling surprisingly comfortable. We were now on the dockside path and a flat run for home if not 3 miles out.

I’d been having a good battle from about 6.5miles and he tried a surge but today was not going to be his day, my thoughts were solely now on my PB as I’d slightly fell behind my 5.55 target. When should I strike for home!!!!…not wanting to blow I decided on 12 miles and I had in my head if I could reach there in under 1.12 I would have a chance……………….12 miles and 1.11 it was like a boost of adrenaline and I struck for home. I had another runner in my sights which gave me something to chase, caught and passed him. I could now hear the band at the finish just keep pushing and it was on the cards but one thing I always forget is how long it seems to take to do that .1…..Never mind 1.18.16 I’ll take that.

Anyone spot the tongue in cheek comments?

 

One thought on “The Rat rolls into Liverpool again

  1. Pingback: Weekend round up post Relays! | wiganharriersendurance

Leave a Reply

