Catforth 10k report

Tracey Dutton reports from the final race in the series for 2013.

I was not feeling at all well before the race.  Fell asleep in the afternoon, which is not like me.  Dragged myself into my car at 5pm and set off down the motorway in the pouring rain.  Collected my race number and went off dressed in waterproofs to do a 2 mile warm up with a guy from Sale Harriers.

Saw Pete Mills and wish him good luck.  As we lined up for the start of the race there was a guy just arrived on his motorbike and was quickly getting changed in the street whilst we were given our final race instructions.  I was still not feeling too well, just wanted my bed.  Thought to myself its the last race just get round.

I wished Pete Mills good luck and we set off at 6:30pm.  I ran a steady race and again on that last mile the wind got us.    I battled on and finished 3rd lady and 20th overall out of 69 runners in a time of 20:35.  Pete Mills came in not far behind me in a time on 21:38 to finish 32nd overall.

I forced myself to eat the meat and potato pie and took a can of pear cider  home.  I won £5 for coming 3rd lady and I won 1st lady and 1st vet 40 for the series, which was free entry to next years series.

Leave a Reply

