St Annes Ultra Fit 10 Report

Sarah McDonald and Andy Ratcliffe represented Wigan Harriers at the St Annes 10 miler this Sunday. Sarah recorded a fabulous result winning her category as 1st Junior Female in 1:26:33. Here’s Andy Ratcliffes report of his race:

With near perfect conditions the question’s were how close could I get to 60mins and would I go off to fast???. Even though I don’t like to blow my own trumpet I have to say I ran a near perfect race.

The race starts with a quick lap of the car park to try and break up the field before you exit onto public roads,once under way my main thought was not to go off to fast, so concentrating on my pace imagine my joy when what I thought was going to be the 3 mile marker actually tuned out to be the 5 mile turn around. What came next was a shock to everyone: someone had turned the wind up and thoughts of a sub 60 went straight out my head to could I hold this pace for 5 miles.

I took shelter behind a couple of fellow runners for a while and couldn’t believe how much easier it got, then with a rush of blood to the head I tried a burst to try and break their spirits(4 miles to go)and it work but could I hold on. The 9 mile marker came into sight with foot steps from behind ringing in my ears, could I up my pace any more with what felt like a minute a mile pace increase(probably 2sec’s) the finish came onto sight a final check over the shoulder to make sure no one was going to pip me on the line and it was done. No complaints..61.11 13th overall and 3rd V45…bring on Wilmslow… ..

One thought on “St Annes Ultra Fit 10 Report

Leave a Reply

